And you can be 16.

That’s what they boy I was babysitting today said. We were playing pirates in the tree house, and he decided to be 6 (he’s 5 1/2 right now) and that I should be 16. I didn’t want to then inform him of my real age, so I said “ok!”

I made fish for MY dinner tonight, but I also made black bean hummus, black bean burgers (with the leftover beans), steak pounded flat, filled with sharp cheddar and mozzarella cheese and rosemary, then rolled up pan seared and baked off in the oven, whole wheat lemon muffins with flax and no butter, 2 little boy lunches, and to top it off, sushi-one roll filled with shrimp and asparagus, the other with smoked salmon and cream cheese. I should have had my camera to take pictures off all these creations, because you might think I’m making it up. I’m not; that is really how I spent the afternoon (besides pirating, that is).

tilapia with brown rice

I cam home to this though:  tilapia and perfectly cooked brown rice. Tilapia is a super mild fish, and is slightly buttery. The thing I love about fish is it can be seasoned so many different ways. This was cooked, kind of a mix between a pan fry and a pan poach, I guess. I had dill, a fish seasoning (paprika, salt and pepper, garlic powder), a squige of mustard and a good bit of water. I thought I’d end up with a watery bit of fish, but it all cooked off and kept the fish from being dry.

 
 
 
salmon, farro, grilled carrots

Then, because there was only one piece of tilapia, I cooked some salmon for my cousin: Asian style with a marinade of orange juice, sesame seed, soy sauce, and canola oil (olive oil isn’t Asian-y). I grilled it on the stove and then threw on some carrots which caramelized between their own sugars and the runoff from the salmon marinade. The farro was leftover that I mixed some soy sauce into. She came back with a clean plate, so I’d call that a success!

 
As a follow up to yesterday: by the end of the afternoon I was doing MUCH better. The insulin finally got into my system, but it kind of wiped me out for the rest of the day. Thank you Lord for modern medicine. Then I did a really ridiculous thing, something I didn’t even know was possible. I wanted to ice both legs because they had really been bothering me. It wasn’t fun (as usual) but it definitely stung more than usual. This morning I woke up with huge red welts on the back of my legs where the ice had been. They were hot to the touch and itchy. After a little internet research, I concluded I gave myself a mild case of frostbite. Genius, Alyssa, really great. Gah. If it isn’t one thing, it’s another! Off to douse myself in Aloe.
About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to And you can be 16.

  1. Laura says:

    Everything sounds delicious, but the burgers especially do!

  2. alice says:

    Big Day I would say!:) Glad you are feeling better:)

Leave a Reply

