Pricks and Pins

The better part of my morning (and afternoon) was spent not feeling so great. The tube that gives me insulin from my pump somehow became disconnected, unbeknownst to me, for several hours and led to super high blood sugars and what is called ketones (super high acidity compound in our bodies). I thought running would bring my blood sugar down, which of course led to one of the worst runs I have ever had in my life. I came back and my cousin could tell I felt pretty miserable. She asked, what does it feel like?

It’s hard for someone to understand when I say that I can feel the acid coursing through my body freely and that everything is wobbly. So I tried to think of how to describe it…I feel like I can’t function, my head hurts, my chest feels like there are weights sitting on it, there are pricks and pins knocking around inside my legs and arms and torso, there is a constant state of nausea (that horrible feeling of getting ready to throw up, without the relief of actually doing it), drinking tons and tons of water to try and flush the ketones out just makes me feel bloated, but my mouth is still dry. Sounds gloriously pleasant, huh? Usually my high blood sugars aren’t that extreme-it was because of the serious mishap of having my insulin cut off for several hours. But it did make me think of before I was diagnosed, because that’s kind of how it felt.

So, on to a more cheerful subject: meringues!

These were straight outta the cookbook meringues. Well, actually the recipe was for pavlova-which calls for cream and berries on top of the meringue, but I omitted that. Anna Pavlova was a famous ballerina, and the dessert was named for her because the swoosh and peaks of the meringue looked like her tutu. These may or may not be going home to my father at Easter…They are super light and airy, though, with a baked sugar crunch. Obviously, I was not eating these after my morning…but I made them and thought I’d show ya’ll!

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

