GIVEAWAY 2

Ok, so this isn’t a second giveaway, just a notice to let you know I decided to extend it to Monday morning. I’m excited to send one of you this yummy stuff!

Yesterday, I was in a baking mood and whipped up a quick batch of bars. The recipe was for oatmeal, cherry, coconut bars with almonds but we didn’t have almonds or dried cherries or cranberries so I switched them up a little. As in, I subbed chocolate chips for the cherries and left out the almonds. Chocolate vs. cherry: chocolate will always, always win.

yes, there is a piece missing. consider it one for the chef:)

Maybe because I’m lazy, maybe I’m über frugal, maybe I’m resourceful, who knows? But I really don’t like going to the store to buy one or two ingredients if I can just substitute something else. Plus, there are all sorts of substitutions you can make to make stuff healthier-especially in baking.

Now, you always hear that baking is a science and must be precise or else things won’t turn out the way they are supposed to. This, I have found, is only partly true. So don’t be afraid to experiment a little when it comes to baking. I’ve found if I make a few small changes or add-ins, I can get away with it just fine.

Some popular subs in my baking: applesauce instead of butter/oil. The flavor generally bakes out and it helps give a soft, moist texture.1 banana in place of 1 egg. This works really well in banana bread, but I’ve done it for other muffins, breads, and even cakes. Anytime granulated sugar is called for, I like to use natural cane sugar (like Sugar in the Raw), or split the recipe between white sugar and honey (another natural sugar). Sometimes instead of white flour I go halvesies and do half white, half wheat (all wheat is usually just too dense). And then sometimes grinding up high fiber cereal or substituting oats is another good way to replace flour.

So, recipe to follow on the bars under the “recipe” tabs, but for now, the stats: 108 calories, 18g carb, 2 g protein. Other coconut chocolate chip bars I found had 431 calories and 55g carb per serving!

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to GIVEAWAY 2

  1. Charlie says:

    that looks amazing!!!

Leave a Reply

