pound o’veggies

I probably had 2.5 pounds of salad today…

la Madeleine goodness

This was the first round: mediterranean salad at the greatest little French cafe, La Madeleine. This had tomatoes, feta, artichokes, cucumbers, and olives. Delish!

Then, lucky gal that I am, got super awesome passes to the Dallas Film Festival. So I treated my cousin to a movie and she treated me to a big ol’ salad (round 2)at Whole Foods. It was a plethora of goodness: balsamic roasted tofu, kale salad, fresh green beans, quinoa salad, tart little blueberries, roasted red peppers, and marinated beets and mushrooms to name just a few things in my box.

Then we headed downtown to catch “Arthur”-a new movie (it officially comes out Friday) with Helen Mirren, Russell Brand, and Jennifer Garner. I had been warned that Russell Brand can be a little crass, but it was actually a pretty good movie and full of hilarious lines/moments! There were definitely things that were unnecessary, but it wasn’t too bad. Not sure I would have PAID to go see it, but when something’s free…well, that changes a few things:)

It was cool because the composer of the film was there representing the movie and he said a few words before the movie got under way. The score was really really good too. It was kind of funny…we had to have our bags checked, be scanned, and show our passes before we could go in, and nobody but press was allowed to have cameras. So during the movie, I pulled out my PDM (the computer that sends messages wirelessly to my insulin pump that is attached to my body) and was computing my dosage when a lady came up behind me and said, “Ma’am, I need you to put your cellphone away!” So I had to turn around and show her it wasn’t a phone/recording device and tell her it was my insulin. She then profusely apologized and even called me sweetheart:) Oh the joys of diabetes!

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to pound o’veggies

  1. alice says:

    You are a sweetheart!

Leave a Reply

