Oats=fuel

goooood morning!

This is my typical morning…tea, a book for entertainment (I just finished Tasting Baklava-a memoir of a Jordanian/American woman. So fascinating with lots of recipes to try!) and OATS. I’m not sure why, but this used to be a food I absolutely hated. Probably because it was gummy, flavorless, and had squishy raisins in it. None of those things scream deliciousness to me. This version is a million times better. First though, the benefits. Oats are a superfood for me. For a normal amount of calories, you get a lot of oomph. Because oats expand, they are super filling and I am definitely a volume eater, so I get a lot just by adding water. Plus, it breaks down slowly and so it is good for my blood sugar.

I tend to like my oats a little soupier than others might. Like I said, my previous experience with oatmeal was dry and gummy-ick. So for a 1/3 cup oats, I do 2/3 cup water and 1/3 cup milk. This seems wildly disproportionate, I know, but the oats really do soak up a lot of liquid! I used to eat it plain just like that, with a pinch of salt, cinnamon, and sweetner. Then I rediscovered bananas (so many foods that were on an “off”list, that are so good for you…so glad I reintroduced them!). Bananas are perfect because they get soft and wonderfully sweet and blend with the oatmeal to make it creamy and fluffy. I know this sounds absurdly strange, but I’ve started adding teeniest, tiniest pinch of ground black pepper too. I love, love, love spicy things and that little bit adds a depth of spice and flavor that’s totally different from the cinnamon.

Other fruits that go well with oats?, you ask. Any kind of berry, really-raspberry, blackberry, blueberries. It kind of tastes like pie when the berries have a little bit of lemon juice and sweetner mixed in with them before adding into the oats. Apples work well too (if you like mushy apples, which I don’t). Nut butters of all kinds are delightful accompaniments too, especially when they get all melty! Cottage cheese adds an amazing richness and yogurt and pumpkin make cooler add-ins. I could go on and on, and should also note that oats are just as good savory as sweet.

Oats are awesome fuel too. Nearly every runner I know has some sort of love affair with oatmeal. Ok, love affair was a strong term, but they do eat it.

Basically, oats are the breakfast of diabetics, runners, champions:)

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Oats=fuel

  1. Elle Wilson says:

    Love this post. 🙂 I bought a huge pack of “I heart oats” at walmart…I mean HUGE.
    I’m so glad I found your blog! You’re such a talent.

Leave a Reply

