Parcels of Butter

Butternut squash, that is. A couple days ago my mom had this epic butternut squash ravioli and she raved about it. I’ve always wanted to try making pasta, and I just so happened to have a squash in the fridge, so I scouted out recipes and methods and then got down to it. I wanted to make legit ravioli-flour on the counter with a little well for the eggs and salt, mixing it slowly with a fork in circles until a dough forms, then rolling it out for sheets of pasta. It sounds so poetic, doesn’t it? And let me tell you, it is harder than it looks! I made a half batch to start but it just didn’t come together. Then I did 2 more half batches (so I could have 2 more shots at experimentation) and they were good enough to fill. In the end, the dough was a little tough and way to thick (try rolling out pasta dough with a plastic rolling pin. hello arm muscles), but they were edible and even just a tiny bit good. 

plate of parcels

I made parcels instead of ravioli, because of the way the dough turned out. The filling was roasted butternut squash with fresh rosemary, a drizzle of olive oil, a beaten egg and some warm spices-cinnamon, mace, pepper. I added parmesan cheese to coat all the squash before putting it on the dough, and when you cut a  cooked ravioli open with your fork, the cheese had melted into the squash and the filling oozed out, a delicious orange mess.

I boiled them and then baked them in the oven for a few minutes, and the baking did a lot to soften the dough (I had a hard time getting it thin enough). The sauce was balsamic and butter heated on the stove top and spooned over the ravioli. The sauce was the perfect mixture of tang and sweetness with just a hint of richness. For the first time effort, I’d call it a success!
 
And speaking of first time efforts…it’s 85 here and after my run yesterday I thought, ok, today is the day I finally do an ice bath. So I ran in the door, grabbed as many ice packs as I could find and the whole freezer tray full of ice, dumped it in the bathtub and filled it up with cold, cold water. And even though I was sweating and red as a beet, it was torture. Awful. Freeeeezing cold. actually, the worst was my feet, which I had to rub because they hurt so bad. After 10 minutes I stood up to get out and couldn’t hardly feel my legs and they wobbled quite a bit. Whew. Glad that is over-I get cold just thinking about it!
 
 
About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Parcels of Butter

  1. Kendra says:

    What benefits are there to an ice bath versus a cool shower? I was always told that ice on skin can cause cell death and that extreme temperature changes can cause/augment pneumonia. Not to mention, it sounds unnecessarily painful ….

    Love your experiments in the kitchen!

    • thegypsycook says:

      per Runners World:

      Cryotherapy (“cold therapy”) constricts blood vessels and decreases metabolic activity, which reduces swelling and tissue breakdown. Once the skin is no longer in contact with the cold source, the underlying tissues warm up, causing a return of faster blood flow, which helps return the byproducts of cellular breakdown to the lymph system for efficient recycling by the body. “Ice baths don’t only suppress inflammation, but help to flush harmful metabolic debris out of your muscles,” says David Terry, M.D., an ultrarunner who has finished both the Western States 100-Mile Endurance Run and the Wasatch Front 100-Mile Endurance Run 10 consecutive times.

      I know for me, it definitely helped with soreness, and was more effective than trying to do mulitple ice packs all over my leg. I think pneumonia would only be a problem if ALL the conditions were cold. It was painful in the moment-but I definitely felt better afterwards and the next day!

  2. Kendra says:

    And … I definitely didn’t mean to leave two comments. So now I’m making three!

Leave a Reply

