Dinner is a moral imperative

Isn’t that a great quote? It’s in a book I’m reading and somebody had an aunt that said that. I couldn’t agree more. 

This was actually my lunch…a kind of reuben wrap, if you will. It was a high fiber+protein wrap with a laughing cow swiss cheese, sliced pastrami, spinach, and a sprinkle of pepper and a squirt of mustard all grilled on the stove. This is possibly the most unattractive possible picture, but it tasted good!

For my morally imperative dinner, I went to an awards dinner put on by UTD with a friend. I didn’t feel like whipping out my phone in a dark room sitting with a bunch of strangers, so I’ll just describe my dinner…Each course was eaten in between a bunch of awards. Not too exciting, but it wasn’t awful and we sat with some interesting students. The salad was radicchio and frisee with blue cheese and walnuts. Blue cheese is the best. When I was younger I hated it, and was appalled once when an Applebee’s waitress put it on my Cobb salad. What 15 year old wants blue cheese?

The main plate came out and was beef with mashed potatoes, 2 asparagus spears and one baby carrot. I heard them offering a vegetarian option, and usually I like that better (even though I’m not a vegetarian). Unfortunately I had to wait for it another 10-15 minutes, and then all that came out was steamed broccoli and shredded rigatoni in a bitter tomato sauce. Needless to say, I didn’t eat much. There was a dill bread roll, which I scooped up some of the sauce with, but it was pretty dry and flaky.

Dessert was a cheesecake with 4 baby mandarin oranges. It was ok and after a few bites I abandoned it for coffee. This description probably makes you glad I didn’t take pictures, right?

One more day to enter the giveaway!

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

