Zest of a lemon

When you begin a recipe, it’s usually a really good idea to read through the whole thing thoroughly before starting. Like today, when I went to make lemon bars for a friend’s birthday and was getting ready to stick the crust in the oven when I noticed a note on the bottom of the recipe that said: “And I would spray the pan first.” Besides wondering why an instruction that says FIRST wasn’t actually put in the recipe that way chronologically. Obviously, to remind me of the need to read over the whole thing first. Trust me, it is infinitely easier to spray the pan when it is empty.

caramelized goodness.

This recipe for lemon bars is a family favorite. Every special event includes them, be it a graduation, shower, or wedding, and these little scoops of citrus-sweetness are super easy.

 
The dough tastes like a mixture between a sugar cookie and a shortcake: buttery, sweet, and soft.
 
Then follows a lemon custard: perfectly eggy, with a punch from the lemon that becomes more pronounced after cooking. 
 
try to limit your consumption to just one. I dare you.

Once they are out of the oven and warm, sprinkle with powdered sugar. I then stuck mine back in the oven and turned the broiler on to get the jiggle out of the custard and to caramelize the sugar. Caramelized sugar is one of the best tastes ever: deeply rich and warm.

 
Needless to say, they were a raging success. And by success I mean I only brought two home. I know, I know, what kind of diabetic am I? I keep putting up these ridiculously sugary recipes. Tomorrow you will see salads the size of Mt. Vesuvius, desserts of fresh fruit and tangy yogurt. And probably some peanut butter.
About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Zest of a lemon

  1. alice says:

    the spraying wasn’t on the original recipe…I guess I could have inserted it up top…but you are right, it is wise to read the whole recipe through first:) You gotta love lemon bars-stick to the pan or not!

Leave a Reply

