Best kind of day

It was the best kind of day…church, walk with my sis, baking, being a little lazy. The nearly 40 degree temperature drop-not so much. I watched entirely too many SNL digital shorts and Arrested Development this weekend at the insistence of my company, but the laughter we got out of it was so worth it.

Remember the honey butter I made my cousin the other day? Apparently it isn’t only good by the spoonful, but on crackers, bread (that actually makes sense), cookies, ice cream, and atop a new treat I made for her: peanut butter cinnamon rolls. 

We had been talking about how here mother used to make cinnamon rolls, and I know she loves peanut butter, so I thought I’d experiment. Plus, if there is peanut butter, then she can even make a twisted case for protein…as in, what a great breakfast-think of all this protein!

There is actually peanut butter in the dough…but I didn’t  think you could taste it. I’ll probably experiment to get a more pronounced peanutty flavor. It is just a simple yeast dough filled with a cinnamon-peanut butter-brown sugar mixture, sliced and baked to golden plumpness. I skipped the icing so she could put her honey butter on it instead. They are super soft and doughy, with a delightful little crunch from the crunchy peanuts. I wish I could say I healthified these, but I didn’t…unless you count leaving off the icing as choosing to not pour the honey butter on as “healthy.” So, there will be no nutritional stats, because really, if you are eating these, you probably don’t care about nutrition at the moment!

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Best kind of day

  1. Charlie says:

    again, I’m hungry. that looks delicious! somehow, you need to mail out samples… or it might just be easier to use the recipe myself

Leave a Reply

