Antiques and Mediterranean

                                                          

I wish this was my personal library. One day!

Antique stores, especially in Dallas are amazing. We visited one today-and one entire room was set up as a library with old books.

This place had so many great things…flags from all over the world, tons of jars and glasses, and a $35,ooo grocery cabinet that was made in the 1800s in Scotland.
 
 We went to dinner at a Mediterranean restaurant called Fadi’s . I had no idea what to expect, and thought it was a sit-down place. But it was “buffet” style place where you chose your platter or combo and they fixed it for you. I got the vegetarian platter.
 
 

plate of glory.

 What all is even on this beast of a plate? 2 kinds of hummus, baba gahnoush (eggplant dip) all sprinkled with paprika. Wonderfully spiced green beans, tangy roasted potatoes, cucumber and tomato salad, couscous with strawberries and cantaloupe (a new but amazing combination), pasta with feta and tomatoes, tabbouleh, huge pita pockets (not pictured), steamed spinach with cheese, and the crunchiest roasted cauliflower.
I ate this whole thing….no lie.
 
Then we were driving home and we saw huge pink bushes down by Turtle Creek where I have pictures of me as a fat baby. So we stopped and my sis and I snagged a pic. By this time it was really cold and windy and we had just rolled out of Fadi’s. It was a good restaurant, pretty moderately priced. My blood sugar was low, so any food would have tasted good, but this was genuinely good. I’m a stickler when it comes to Mediterranean food (because I am obsessed) and this passed the test as far as taste goes. It was clean, there was no wait, the staff was friendly and helpful, and we got a lot of food for our money. Success.
 
 
 

                                                                                             .  

 
 
 
 
 

 

  
About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Antiques and Mediterranean

  1. Charlie says:

    that “plate of glory” looks amazing! and again you made me hungry. That bookstore looks cool too. Larger cities always have really cool bookstores.

  2. alice says:

    Those huge bushes are azaleas….that is the picture where the lady at the film counter wondered if I was your grandma! Some things you just don’t ask!!!
    Glad it was a super weekend for all:) Mumsie

Leave a Reply

