Honey + Butter

The other day I took my faux-bagels to Bible study. To go with them I mixed some honey and soft butter, but didn’t end up using it. I stuck it in the fridge thinking, when will I EVER use this? And then tonight, I find my cousin eating it by the spoonful. She is obsessed-she thinks it’s the best dessert she’s ever had. She said her bro-in-law used to eat butter with a fork. Who does that??

yes, that is a mountain of veggies behind the eggs.

Lunch was an omelet-2 eggs with spices (garlic, cumin, oregano s&p, mustard) cooked in the pan until it starts to firm up, then I threw on some spinach and a swiss cheese Laughing Cow. Fold over and eat! Egg yolks were one of those things I used to be afraid of eating-high calorie and cholesterol…blah blah blah. They are good and good for you. Especially when the are just a teensy bit runny. My dad loves omelets. When we were in Tanzania, the inn we stayed at had a chef whose breakfast duty was custom omelets. My dad wowed him by asking for 3 eggs in one omelet.

 
 
With dinner I had some fresh fruit-strawberries and a couple of cuties. I still can’t figure out what cuties are exactly…are they oranges? Tangerines? Tangelos? Whatever. They are good. With fresh fruit I love to add a little extra flavor. Since the oranges and strawberries are pretty acidic, I added maybe 1/4-1/2 teaspoon almond extract  and sweetner to taste. Doing this with vanilla or lemon juice (for blueberries or peaches) works well  to give it added flavor and tang.
 
I was in the kitchen a lot today. Which is totally fine by me!
 
This, my dear friends, is cashew butter. Simply, one of the best things ever to exist for consumption. And super easy to make. Just take raw, unsalted cashews, toast them in a pan on the stove top for 7ish minutes (watch closely, or they will burn!) and then tossed in the food processor. Be patient-this takes about 10 minutes, but the result is creamy, perfectly salty and sweet butter that is good on bread, ice cream, or fingers. Cashews are expensive, but homemade is definitely cheaper and you can control the salt/flavorings. The thing about
natural/homemade nut butters that I LOVE is the texture. It definitely takes time to swallow this-it has a real stick to the roof of you mouth quality.
 
It is March, and I’ve incurred my first mosquito bites already. Crazy.
About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

