A healthy failure

I got the urge to bake something-anything-tonight as I was preparing for my weekly Top Chef date with the sister. Everything that looked good was just going to take too long. Orange rolls, chocolate olive oil cookies, lemon poppy seed poundcake…I would be up all night. Then I remembered these peanut butter cookies that only have, like 4 ingredients. So during commercial breaks I would run into the kitchen, whip some ingredients together, then dash back to see the drama unfold on BravoTv. Love me some kitchen drama!

These were supposed to be healthy little cookies. The original recipe called for peanut butter, brown and white sugar, baking soda and an egg. Instead, I did peanut butter, 1/4 the sugar, honey to replace the other half of the sugar, and applesauce for the egg-so it would be a delightfully healthy cookie.

Except not. They were droopy-almost souffle-like. I didn’t even try making them into cookies and just slopped them all in a pan together. Finally, I pulled the pan out, dumped in a bunch of raw oats and a handful of chocolate chips and threw them back in the oven. All in all, they were more like a no bake (but baked anyway!) cookie. And they weren’t really healthy anymore.  

But they were GOOD. I mean, really really good. The honey and peanut butter were the perfect combo. After a while cooling on the counter they were a little more firm, but really, they are just meant to be dished out and eaten with a spoon. They were the texture of baked fudge…and with more flavor. 

If you want to try to recreate this blessed disaster, it is really simple: mix 1 cup of chunky peanut butter, 1 teaspoon baking soda,1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce, 1/4 cup sugar, 1/4 cup honey. Put this in the oven at 350 for…oh maybe 15 minutes. Then dump in 1 1/3 cup oats and cook for another few minutes-maybe 5. Then add in 3/4 cup chocolate chips and bake for another 5 minutes. Try to let them cool for at least 10 minutes before dipping your spoon in, but I know it will be hard, so if you just go for it, that’s ok too.

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

