farro, why have we not met?

Tonight, hoping to use up some leftover olives in the fridge, I spotted farro in the pantry. We have tons of rice, pasta, couscous, risotto, lentils, oatmeal, and hot cereals. Farro was just one more bag in the mix of what might appear to be a carb addiction. We aren’t; I think my cousin just likes to have a stockpile. There’s rice in both freezers, including black rice, which I also did not know existed.

Back to the farro. I did a little research and this stuff not only tastes great, it has awesome nutritional stats. As in…its pretty low calorie (for a grain), its not super high carb per serving, and it has lots of protein and magnesium. It helps maintain blood sugar (yay!), in part because its a complex carbohydrate, and it is low in gluten. Apparently, this is the wonder grain I’ve been missing out on.

One thing I loved about the farro is that it has a nice bite to it, something to chew on. I cooked it per the package instructions, and while it boiled away I chopped some tomato, salami, and olives into a bowl. When the farro was ready, I dumped it in, added some grated cheese, olive oil, salt &pepper, a few herbs and a squeeze of lemon. Delicious-good both hot or cold!

And for anyone tempted to think Hurricane March is settling down, its not. I heard someone say that Dallas is where all the trade winds of America meet. Narcissistic of Dallas to think this, yes, but with 30-40 mph gusts of wind blast me as I try to run, I’m awfully tempted to believe it!

*Recipe and nutritional stats will be on the recipe page.

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

