Mansion Lasagna

A couple weeks ago, I went to a party at the Mansion on Turtle Creek in downtown Dallas. The chef made my sis and me a veggie lasagna that wasn’t on the menu, and literally with every bite we looked at each other and said, “This is SOOOO good!”

leaning tower of eggplant glory

So, I recreated/simplified it. I roasted eggplant and a red pepper, then layered it with ricotta cheese that I had mixed herbs and spices into. The cheese was thick and melted in between the soft, super-flavorful veggie “noodles.” I thought about adding tomato sauce, but then I took it out of the oven, saw that it was a monstrosity, and decided it was perfect without sauce. Plus there wasn’t any sauce on the Mansion-version. I made 2 single servings instead of making a whole pan and cutting it, but either way would work. Plus, eggplants and red pepper are both low-calorie and have no fat, but tons of vitamins and nutrients(B vitamins + potassium and tons of vitamin C, respectively). Ricotta is low-fat and high protein, so all together, this meal is filling and full of different tastes and textures.

 
faux-bagels. Round 2.

Then I tried the bagels again. They definitely LOOK like bagels…but once again I skipped the boiling stage. Grrr. Oh well. At least they look fun and taste good! Experimentation is not over.

 
My favorite Floridian uncle (umm, he has a ponytail and rides a Harley, how awesome is that?) sent me something fun to add to my recipes. Here it is:
 
 
 
 
 
Recipe for a Happy Home.

4 c. of love

2 c. of loyalty

3 c. of forgiveness

1 c. of friendship

5 spoons of hope

2 spoons of tenderness

4 qts. of faith

1 barrel of laughter

Take love and loyalty, mix it thoroughly with

faith.  Blend it with tenderness, kindness and

understanding.  Add friendship and hope, sprinkle

abundantly with laughter.  Bake it with sunshine.

Serve daily with generous helpings. 

I couldn’t agree more! 

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

