Fish Friday

My first post mentioned Lent, but I didn’t talk about it at all. Since my freshman year in college, I’ve been practicing Lent-giving something up for 40 days (I’ve done caffeine, soda, and peanut butter in other years) and really trying to focus on what Easter is all about! For some reason, I’m really really looking forward to Easter this year…maybe its the thought of a big family Easter egg hunt:)

I went to Mass on Ash Wednesday…a new ande experience for me. One thing that is traditional in the Catholic church is to eat fish on Fridays during Lent as an additional form of fasting. I’m not Catholic, but I do love fish, so here is a fun salmon recipe I eat a lot.

salmon cakes. and a pound of veggies!

They’re little salmon cakes that are kept together with ground cereal and thickened with yogurt. (Or a little mayo/mayo substitute). Dill is the perfect herb and lemon is a tangy compliment to the rich salmon. They’re grilled on the stovetop for just a few minutes and are best with a yogurt and caper sauce. These have loads of protein, are low carb and low-calorie and DELISH!

 
By the bye, it is Hurricane March here in Dallas. I lived through 2 hurricane seasons in Florida, and that wind has nothing on the gusts we get here. When I run, I feel like I’m not even moving!
 
And today, when it got up to 85-85 people!-I met a friend from Bible study and we went to Katy Trail downtown and walked to the American Airlines center…5 miles I think? Even though it was hot and I was dying of thirst and my blood sugar was dropping…it was super fun to hang out, be in a new place, see lots of people, and smell the lilac bushes lining the path. I think I might try making bagels…just because. We’ll see!
About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Fish Friday

  1. Laura says:

    Your food keeps making me hungry! Glad you had a walk with a friend and hope there are many more to come.

  2. Charlie says:

    That food looks really good! Sounds like a fun season for you

  3. Great looking salmon cakes and loads of veggies—-love it!!

Leave a Reply

