And a Little bit of Chicken Fried…

this might look like a single ramekin serving. it is not. it is a huge, deep dish bowl.

Last night, I fried chicken for my cousin. I’m becoming pretty adept at reworking leftovers into new dishes and I’m always trying to use up stuff sitting in the pantry. So, tonight, there was a chicken breast leftover from last night and a recipe I really wanted to try. Thanks to an awesome pantry and a few veggies in the fridge, I had everything to make what I’m calling a crustless veggie + chicken pie. So maybe its more like a veggie + chicken crisp? Or cobbler?

    It starts off by browning onions and carrots in a pot, until the onions are translucent and the carrots are soft. Add in some peppery greens, a can of creamy lima beans, juicy tomatoes, and some leftover cooked chicken. This is topped off with an absorbent grain (be it millet, buckwheat-what I used-aramantha, or cornmeal). You can add cheese to the this which makes it is even creamier, but you certainly don’t have to. The top caramelizes under the broiler for a few minutes and there you have it: a full, hearty, healthy meal all in one dish.

Sidenote: In addition to the bipolar Cash, I’m feeding the fish and frogs left at home. Is a pet worth calling a pet if it lives under water and only requires 2 miniscule pellets of feed every 2 days to stay alive?                                           

 

 

 

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

