Cash is King

And by Cash, I mean the dog my cousin and I are keeping for the week. And he is a bipolar beast. One minute he loves me and wants to snuggle and go on long walks, the next he is baring his fangs at me. All to say, this might be a stressful week.

Last year, a biology student gave me a kefir culture and told me I could make yogurt with it. I stick the culture (which you can buy online) in a glass jar with milk and in a few days, I have fresh yogurt. The taste is definitely unique-it has a tang unlike any other plain yogurt, but it’s also super healthy and can be used for so many things.

Like….

A base for fruit and granola mixes. I flavor it with almond, vanilla, and a little sweetner.

Homemade dressings. The possibilities are endless. My favorite combo: yogurt, feta, mustard, pepper, garlic powder, and a smoky spice-maybe turmeric or paprika.

Dessert: mix with ricotta and a pack of hot chocolate and some almond flavor-its an instant chocolate mousse.

Dinner on the go

Perfect example of  the yogurt-dressing: dinner was on the go tonight: Bible study. So I had some grilled, shredded chicken on top of spinach and a ton of pan-roasted veggies (carrots, celery, onion, brussel sprout) flavored with curry and cinnamon. You can’t actually see them buried beneath the spinach-but you can see the steam on the tupperware from them! And that yellow blob in the corner? The yogurt/feta dressing-which is perfect and necessary between bites of the spicy veggies and peppery chicken.

 
 
 
Yogurt feta dressing:
2 tablespoons plain yogurt (kefir or otherwise)
2 tablespoons feta cheese
2 teaspoons yellow mustard
1/4 teaspoon pepper, turmeric, garlic powder
dash of worcestershire
1-2  any fresh/dried herb (basil, dill, and oregano are my favorites)
About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

