Simple Joys.

Today was a day of simple joys…

-Recovery run after a 10-miler yesterday in GORGEOUS weather-sunny, mid-50s, and (finally) just a minimum of wind.

-Lunch outside on the patio-curried veggies and a cheesy omelet. Recipes to follow soon.

-Foam rolling. Ok, this isn’t actually a joy. It’s painful and I wimper the whole time. My cousin is probably wondering why after every run I go upstairs and sound like I’m crying. But I feel so much better afterwards.

-Picnic dinner in the park with my friend Gloria. We even sat on a blanket under a tree. Then we went Starbucks and walked around Barnes and Noble. I showed her the “Bohemian Manifesto” and we took the quiz at the end to see what kind of Bohemian we are (Noveau, Zen, Dandy, Gypsy, and Beat). I’m mostly the “Zen” kind, even though I was gunning for “Gypsy.”  

-Last but not least, vanilla maple ice cream, the best cereal EVER (fiber one “sticks” as I call them), and crunchy peanut butter. PBA-ers, you know the ful extent of this particular joy. For non-PBA-ers, this dessert was born at the PBA caf with the tempermental frozen ice cream machine, cheerios, and a vat of peanut butter. It became an obsession, I daresay. It has everything you need in a dessert: cold smoothness of the ice cream, the barely sweet crunch of the cereal, and sweet-salty peanut butter that makes anything and everything taste better.

-Knowing I get to see my sis and bro-in-law tomorrow!

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

