Lent and Butternut Fries

First post. Here we go.

There is nothing like Dallas in Spring, I’m discovering. It will be like summer the whole week, then feel like winter again the moment Saturday dawns. Everything is in bloom: literally, in one night the whole city seemed to have a downpour of bright pink tulips-they’re everywhere and trees are white and purple.

Sunday night my 75 year old roomate/2nd cousin and I took one of her friends to a movie. Anything with her is an adventure…We saw The Adjustment Bureau-interesting commentary on free will and fate. Umm, and it has Matt Damon in it and some super cool modern dance by a modern-dayAudrey Hepburn, Emily Blunt. If you like chase scenes, romance, mystery, dance, theological discussing movies (I think that covers just about every type of movie out there) then GO see this!

So, great new thing I tried for dinner tonight, and it was a huge success. I’m slightly obsessed with sweet potatoes, and have found a new love: butternut squash. Tonight, I made them into fries, just by cutting them into thin rectangles and roasting them in the oven. The deliciousness came from two things: coconut oil and the spice mix of curry, cumin, and cinnamon. They have a deep flavor, a touch of spice, and a richness from the coconut oil. And every ingredient is super good for you. So go make them asap. You will thank me!

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lent and Butternut Fries

  1. Gara Ann Martin says:

    so well written…I felt like I could see the place and you are correct… all ingredients very healthy!

  2. Alice says:

    LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!so glad you are getting your feet wet….so to speak!

Leave a Reply

