awesomesauce.

Applesauce is a good thing. Homemade applesauce is a great thing. Food mills seem to be gaining popularity these days with new parents who want to make their own baby food. Genius idea, in my opinion. Simply mill whatever you’re eating and voila! baby has a refined palate in training and the parent has only 1 meal to fix.

Side note: I had a family today that ordered for their kids, ranging in age from I’d say 1 1/2-9 years that ate hummus, and a pizza with garlic, spinach, broccoli, and onions. I told the mom I was pretty impressed and she just laughed and said “oh kids learn to like whatever you feed them!” I’m tucking that away for future knowledge. Back to applesauce. We grew up eating this stuff. My Grandmama had a giant apple tree in her backyard and we would climb it and pick apples. A few weeks ago, I helped pick apples off the tree in our yard. It was not quite as nostalgic as my childhood memories. Mostly it was hot, I kept getting pieces of branch and bark in my eyes, and the apples kept rolling away from me. I digress.So it goes from peeled and boiled green apples into the strainer where it is mashed around and comes out in a thick puree. It is sweetened with sugar (Splenda for me) and has some thickener put in and then it is frozen. It is possibly the best summer dessert there ever was.It is fantastic on toast, with cottage cheese, or by itself. Really, I can’t envision a bad variation of things it can be paired with.

One more tangent: It seems Mumford and Sons can do no wrong:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cj0xOdE07TQ&feature=g-vrec. Please listen.

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to awesomesauce.

  1. Gara Ann says:

    what wonderful memories..so good frozen too

Leave a Reply

