Possum burgers

Tonight I saw a possum crossing the road and instantly thought of my Uncle telling me he was going to send me a recipe for possum dip. It was strange because I haven’t seen ANY possums since living in Dallas, not even dead on the side of the road (I see all kinds at home in Arkansas).

I kind of wish I could say I saw it and shot it, then made possum burgers with it, but that would be the biggest lie. These aren’t even beef burgers. No siree, these are black bean burgers, and they were pretty tasty too-what isn’t good when covered in cheese??

Today at work I cooked like mad, starting with meatballs. These were not just your average meat balls…no these were made of grass-fed beef with panko(Japanese style) bread crumbs, and fresh mint leaves. The smell of meat cooking with mint is really unique-it reminded me of lamb and mint. These also had onion, garlic, and a couple of eggs in them. I pan seared them then baked them off in the oven.

Then I made more creamed spinach. I can’t say that this is remotely healthy. I don’t think even 4 bags of fresh spinach can overcome butter, milk, flour, and cheddar and mozzarella cheese. But a grating of fresh nutmeg does give it a warmth and deeply spicy flavor that is different then just cheesy spinach.

Lastly, I made a simple rice and beans dish: brown rice, black beans, fresh (boiled) corn, and Mexican-style seasonings.

Lot’s to do in the next few days…I’m going home to Arkansas for the summer (duh, I’m not missing out on that fab garden of my mom’s. Fresh veggies? I am SO there).

About thegypsycook

I'm a 22 year old who just graduated college and moved to Dallas to look for a job and help out my 75(!)year-old cousin. I'm a type 1 diabetic runner and I love being in the kitchen-cooking, baking, cleaning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Possum burgers

  1. alice says:

    Love these last posts…sassy and fun!

Leave a Reply

